Vegan & Vegetarian

How does PepsiCo determine if one of its products is vegan?

Since there’s no established FDA standard for the term “vegan,” PepsiCo defines vegan as “a food or beverage that does not contain any ingredients or processing aids sourced from, produced or processed by animals.” Products labeled “vegan” would not contain ingredients such as meat, poultry, fish, eggs, gelatin, milk, animal enzymes, sugar refined with animal bone char, and honey.

How does PepsiCo determine if one of its products is vegetarian?

Since there’s no established FDA standard for the term “vegetarian,” PepsiCo defines vegetarian as “a food or beverage that does not contain any ingredients or processing aids sourced from animals, but could include ingredients produced or processed by animals.” These products would not contain ingredients such as meat, poultry, fish, gelatin or animal enzymes. Products might include ingredients such eggs, milk, honey or sugar refined with animal bone char.

How do I know if a product on your website is vegan or vegetarian?

If one of our products is classified as vegan or vegetarian, a symbol will be displayed on the product page. You can also use the Vegan filter under Claims & Certifications on the Product Finder to see all foods or beverages on the website that meet our qualification for vegan.